RSS Feed

Not that you asked, but now you know.

So, I might be a little bit crunchy to some, and not at all to others.  Regardless, I like natural and healthy things.  I like local.  I like to re-use and be kind to my household, my health, my self, and my environment. (I also like Schick Intuition razors which are not that great for the environment but I’m not giving them up.  It’s just not gonna happen.)

I think God wants us to do the best we can with what we have.  I think he wants me to enjoy life and be as healthy as I as be.  I’m trying to make the best decisions I can.

So, for those of you who want to look in my medicine cabinet, so to speak, here’s your chance.  Here’s a glimpse into what I  do.  It’s ever-changing as we figure out what works for our family and what doesn’t work.  These are the decisions I’ve made as of now.  And I reserve the right to change them at any given time.  (And, I think God’s ok with that.)

Bathroom

“Conditioner” – So, this is not real conditional.  Shocking, I know.  Conditioner in a spray bottle?  Yep, mine is.  I read this really great post on shampoo and conditioner and now I’m converted.  I usually add some orange essential oil to help the apple cider vinegar smell a little more bearable.  Not for the faint of heart.  Vinegar is vinegar.

Soap – This is the most amazing soap I have ever used!  I used to use more lotion than you can imagine.  And, I’m not talking about cheapo lotion, I mean $15/month on CeraVe that my dermatologist recommended.  I still itched all the time and just used more lotion.  My skin is super-sensitive and required a lot of lotion.  I used a lot of lotion.  Every day.  Lots of lotion.  Are you beginning to understand?  I used a lot of lotion and still had itchy dry skin.  I love this soap.  I only have to use lotion now if I shave.  I don’t itch and my skin doesn’t burn.  My skin isn’t red and blotchy.  This soap is so great.  You really ought to buy yourself a bar.  It’s local.  My terrific friend, Charity makes it herself.  It smells great.  It’s the first time I’ve ever been able to use soap that smells great!!  I can hook you up if you’re interested.  And you should be interested.  You can catch her here.

“Shampoo” – Yep, not real shampoo.  I use a modification of this.  I have decided that I like a little lather, so I’m probably going to add in some sulfate-free/organic shampoo.  I am really pleased with this.  If you didn’t catch it from the soap explanation, I have super sensitive stupid skin and that includes my scalp.  I have always had problems with my scalp itching and being red and dry.  No more.  Apparently, it’s not stupid skin, but stupid detergent, I mean shampoo.  My scalp feels so much better, no more itching, no more dry, flaky scalp.  I will warn you that this is definitely different than using shampoo and, again, it’s not for the faint of heart.

Well, that’s enough for now.  That’s what I started with.  You should start there too (but only if you want to).

*****************************************************************************************************************************

What is your favorite shampoo?

******************************************************************************************************************************

2 responses »

  1. Alright. I have some questions. I have several friends who have headed down this path, and I’ve been tempted, but never taken the plunge.

    Question 1. If you go to the salon, and they wash your hair—will this completely de-rail the no-pooing you’ve been doing, forcing you to start all over?

    Question 2. Does the ACV really detangle well? It makes me nervous! And—do you use this on your girls? I think Hannah’s hair would be the ultimate test!

    Question 3. How was the “initiation phase” for you? Was your hair really greasy?

    Question 4. Do you use this baking soda/ACV every time you take a shower? The reason I ask—-I only use shampoo about once a week as it is. The rest of the time I use just conditioner.

    My scalp used to just get dry/flaky/itchy in the winter—-now it’s that way in the summer too. If this would make that better—–I’d be totally willing to give it a shot.

    I’d be interested to hear your recipes. It looks like you use more than the 1 tblsp to a cup?

    Reply
  2. 1. Don’t tell anyone, but, I cut my own hair now. ha So far no one has laughed so I’ll probably keep doing it. I really don’t think that one time washing it with something else would cause major problems. You could always wash your hair before you go and then just have them wet it.

    2. I use it on Hannah’s hair! I don’t find much difference in using ACV and using the store-bought detanglers, with one exception…the Biosilk – silk therapy – miracle leave-in conditioner, but it comes with a high price tag. I still like the ACV enough to keep using it and it fits in my budget much better.

    3. I have dry hair naturally and honestly I didn’t have any initiation phase at all.

    4. I typically shower every other day and, yes, I use the baking soda & ACV every time I shower.

    Notes: Seriously, no more flakes and no more itching!

    Recipes – ‘Shampoo’ – honestly I just dump some in. I would guess I use 1 – 2 tsp of shampoo, 1/2 cup – 1 cup baking soda and add water to about 1.5 inches from the top. That allows me some room to add more water if it’s too thick or more baking soda if it’s too runny. (I am using an old Burts Bees shampoo bottle, not sure how many oz it holds.)

    ‘Conditioner’ – I fill up my spray bottle 1/3 to 1/2 with ACV, 10 (or so) drops of orange essential oil and then top off with water.

    I figured summer was the best time to try it because I could always pull my hair back or put it up if it looked horrible, but I didn’t have hardly any problems transitioning to it! Take the plunge! (You can always go back to the normal shampoo & conditioner if you don’t like it!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

