Routine Makes Me Happy

Type A.  Oldest child.  ESTJ.  I like routine.  I like order.  I’m just wired that way.

You don’t like routine?  I don’t know what to tell you.  Well, yes I do…you stress me out.

My little banana is now in preschool, everyday.  I have to drop her off and pick her up, on time.  Now, as much as I like order, I hate to get out of bed.  So, I need all the help I can get to get us all up and out the door on time.  I mean, I can’t be late.  She can’t possibly be late to preschool.  It will ruin her record and she’ll never get into the right college and her hopes and dreams will all be ruined.  Ha  I don’t actually believe that for a second, but I do believe that it’s important to have her there on time, even if I go in my workout clothes with my teeth not brushed and smelling like a sweaty mess.  But, we’re on time, by golly.

This chore chart has drastically improved our mornings.  It has helped establish our routine.

We lay clothes out the night before so the girls are responsible for getting themselves dressed, making their bed, getting their own bowl and spoon out, and last, I help them brush teeth.  We save picking up toys for our nighttime routine.  We only do the chart during the week.  I have a selection of prizes/rewards that they can choose from on Friday afternoon.  I tell them they need 20 or whatever stickers (nobody’s perfect) and then they count them up and get super excited to choose their prize.

That helps them tremendously in the mornings and things run much more smoothly than they once ran.

My routine includes exercise.  On Monday, Wednesday, and Friday I do a lovely little at-home workout.

(Oh, and that is not me.  I thought you might be confused.  Don’t worry, my abs will never look like that.  2 c-sections guarantee they won’t.)  Photo Credit: Women’s Health

I modify some of the moves, but I can tell a difference already and have only been doing it 3 – 4 week.  I dare you to try it.  10 minutes and a timer.  DO IT!

On Tuesday and Thursday I get up and run 1.5 – 2 miles before anyone else is up.

So there you go.  Morning routine.  It’s a really good thing.

***************************************************************************************************************************

What is your favorite morning routine?

**************************************************************************************************************************

One thought on “Routine Makes Me Happy

Leave a Reply

