I’m Old Fashioned.

Yep, that’s right.  I actually carry envelopes in my wallet and use cash to pay for most everyday purchases.  Husband and I took the Dave Ramsey Financial Peace University course and have used a monthly budget and cash ever since. We highly recommend it.  It literally changed our life.  In fact we just paid cash for his new truck (new to us anyways).  It’s more than just learning how to budget.  It covers all kinds of topics, like budgets, saving, insurance, planning, etc.  Take it.  Seriously, it’s worth every penny.  Go ahead, check out the link and find a class near you.

Don’t get me wrong, I still utilize technology every chance I get.  I pay my bills with online bill pay from my bank.  I use a debit card for online purchases and for gas.  I simply refuse to go into the gas station and leave the girls in the car or drag them in just so I can pay cash.  Not. Gonna. Happen.  I budget an amount to sit in my checking account to cover my gas for the month and then I happily use my debit card to pay for it.

To make the practical stylish here a couple links that make it easier and more desirable for me to pay in cash.

Make your own envelopes with this great free tutorial!  Have a party and do it with some friends.  Pick some super trendy paper and get to it.

My two favorite wallets…currently on sale!  Vera Bradley’s zip-around wristlet…my current choice is mocha rouge and I love it!  I also like her zip-around wallet.  Both of these are large enough to hold the cash envelopes and are easy to manage.

Wallet w Envelopes

So, there you have it.  Be old fashioned like me and pay with cash in a trendy way.  You’ll be glad you did.  And I’ll hold your hand while you make the change if you want.  I’m passionate about this.  Use cash.  Do it.

************************************************************************************************************

What are the obstacles to you using a cash-based system?

************************************************************************************************************

Leave a Reply

