RSS Feed

Um, hello, I’m gonna need some answers over here.

We. Don’t. Know. What. We’re. Doing.

Really, we don’t know.  We are thinking adoption is next.

We’d like to raise a little boy.  Ok, maybe Husband wants that more than I do.  Boys scare me.  They are wild, crazy, bleed, and have a penis.  I’m just not sure I’m ready for all that.

However, in this house we can only adopt a little girl.  Dang.  I mean, whew, sigh of relief, for now.  I doubt very seriously that I’ll get off the hook that easy.

I really want to adopt from South Korea.  They mostly adopt little boys and you can’t select a gender.  That’s out.

Do we want an infant?  Well, not really.  But if we do, we’ll have to adopt domestically.  That makes me nervous.  That means somewhere down the line there will be the I-want-to-meet-my-birth-parents conversation.  I’m not sure I can handle that to be super honest.  Ha, like I’m not usually super honest.

I would love to adopt internationally, but shoot, that is crazy expensive.  And I’m going to have to have a different car, because mine is so small that I literally cannot fit 3 carseats in the back seat.  How will we afford that all?

And from what country???

When?  Where?  How much does it cost?  Can we do fundraising?  Is this what God is calling us to?  Are we totally crazy?  Do we really believe this is for us?  How will our girls handle all this?  How will we handle the travel to pick up our new child?  What if the new child is ugly?  C’mon, don’t tell me that doesn’t cross other people’s minds.

I have always felt very strongly that we would one day adopt.

Husband is still a little doubtful that it will work out and he doesn’t have much hope.  Do I have the faith and hope to get us to the point where God redeems and restores husbands hope and faith?

I have a feeling that I’m not going to get any answers, at least not until we start stepping out in faith.  Ugh.  This is going to be a test of patience and trust and a long journey.  And if you’ve ever met me you know that patience and trust is not typically how I roll.

4 responses »

  1. elisabragdolllover2002@yahoo.cometh

    What if the new child is ugly? C’mon, don’t tell me that doesn’t cross other people’s minds.

    PRICELESS!! I love it!! I know I’m supposed to be all christian-like(but you know i’m no christian) but that IS a VERY reeal reality and thought….I think that G-d will lead you and Chad to wherever HE needs the pair of you to do and be….and for right now…just relax and let G-d truly mnister to you…there was something that I posted the other day that i think applies to this situation…here it is! Hope it helps you like it helped me!

    G-d is higher than anything and anyone, outshining everything you can see in the skies. Who can compare with G-d , our G-d, so majestically enthroned, surveying his magnificent heavens and earth? He picks up the poor from out of the dirt, rescues the wretched who’ve been thrown out with the trash, seats them among the honored guests, a place of honor among the brightest and best. He gives childless couples a family, gives them joy as the parents of children. Hallelujah! (Psalm 113:4-9)

    Since G-d reigns supreme…just trust that He will lead you to the solution…

    E.

    Reply
  2. I believe that God will let the pieces fall together as they should and the answers will become more clear and easy to see. It’s a lot to think about, for sure, but you already know that you need to keep praying. So just pray everyday that the child you’re supposed to have will be yours when the time is right. Maybe it’s not time. I realize it was hard for you to agree to trying for a third, but maybe it’s just not time. Who knows! But God does have a plan and it will be revealed piece by piece as He sees fit for you. Try to relax, tonight…tomorrow…take it all one day at a time. You have everyday normal things to do, so do them. One day at a time and say your daily prayer of ” oh when and how and where Lord”.

    Reply
  3. So, you know I used to work in international adoption, right? Anytime you wanna talk adoption, I don’t have ALL the answers, but I have a lot of answers about how/cost/process/paperwork/etc. Happy to talk through stuff 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

