Holding Tight at 4 & 2

Folks, you read that right.  For right now, we’re holding tight at 4 humans and 2 dogs.  Not sure if or when that will change.  It could change at any given moment.  And seeing as I’m the world’s worst secret keeper I’m sure I’ll let you know in about 10 seconds once it changes.

No freaking clue what we’re doing as far as adoption goes.  Maybe someday we will.  For now, we’re content with 2 little girls.  I may have even had a minor freak out moment the other day and told Chad in the utmost of seriousness that there is no way in this world we can possibly adopt a girl.  Basically because I refuse to raise any more children with double sex chromosomes.  Three daughters???  Not in this house.  We already have 4 double sex chromosome carriers here…Me, Banana, Bear, and as Bear will always point out, Lizzie (the dog).

And he pretty much ignored me because that’s what he does when I’m clearly being ridiculous.  Although to be fair, I don’t actually realize that I’m being ridiculous in that moment.  It’s not until later that I realize it may have been my double sex chromosomes talking and not so much logic, reason, or the love of Jesus.  (And, no, I can’t for the life of  me seem to figure out why my little Banana feels all her emotions so strongly.  Hmm, now where would she have gotten that from?  **finger tapping on head**)

So imagine my surprise when THE VERY NEXT DAY, yes you read that right, less than 24 hours later God decides to speak to me.  Not audibly, but c’mon, I usually know when its Jesus talking and not my ridiculousness.  He pretty much whispered to me, while I was filing papers and had a giant mess spread all over my bedroom floor (because it’s ok if it’s my mess), that I may have been thinking a little selfishly.  I mean, I may lose my temper occasionally, and not let the girls help when cooking as much as I ought (their mess just stresses me out, folks.  I mean, do you know how long it takes to clean up flour??), and I may not be perfect (hard to believe, I know), and I may not have a clue how to do this motherhood thing, but I am a mother and I do love my girls and surely I’m a better mom than no mom at all.  Could I really be so selfish and ridiculous to think that some little girl would rather stay in an orphanage with no mom or dad than to come live in an imperfect house with an imperfect mom, dad, and two sisters that would love her like crazy.  Love her like Jesus.

So I had to tell Husband the next night that maybe we could still adopt a little girl.  After all, I may been overreacting a tad and I might have been a tad on the ridiculous side.  He may have rolled his eyes at me.  This is why he’s Mr. Steady (or Steadfast as he says…I tell him he’s not Jesus so he can’t have the Steadfast title).  And I’m Mrs. Roller Coaster.  Raising a mini-roller coaster (or two).  Maybe I’ll adopt another mini-roller coaster.  All the ups and downs might make us puke, but who knows maybe we’ll be the funnest house on the block.  And we’ll be so much fun that we’ll say funnest even when we should say most fun.

Oh my goodness, it’s a good thing that when God adopted me it was for LIFE.  And that my ridiculousness won’t get me kicked off the ride.  It’s for life and beyond.  He is steadfast.

And until something changes, us 4 double sex chromosome girls are gonna stick together have us some fun (and drama and yells).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Are all girls dramatic or is it just my house?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One thought on “Holding Tight at 4 & 2

  1. Pingback: Bricks Without Dang Straw | RedemptionInProgress

Leave a Reply

